American-style Breakfast Sausage Patties

FINALLY! After living in the UK for more than a decade, I’ve managed to make some decent American-style breakfast sausage patties.

Breakfast Sausage PattyI started with a mixture of 70% pork meat, and 30% pork fat, put once through the grinder by our local butcher. I don’t have a grinder at home. Had one of those cheap little plastic hand-powered ones from a kitchen shop here in the UK, but threw it in the rubbish bin after it became clogged with sinew & gristle after a previous attempt at making sausage a few years back. Yuck. From now on, I’m letting the expert do it.

For 3 pounds of the mixture, I used the following spices:

2 teaspoons salt

1 tsp dried parsley

1/2 tsp ground black pepper

1 tsp crushed red peppers (ie, like pizza topping)

1 tsp ground coriander

1/2 tsp dried thyme

2 tsp rubbed sage (not ground). I used some McCormick’s that I brought back from the USA.

1 tsp dried summer savory – hard to find in the UK. Again, I brought some back from the States.

1/4 tsp ground nutmeg

about 1/3 cup bacon grease (optional)

Mix everything together, form into patties, and fry.

Tagged

2 thoughts on “American-style Breakfast Sausage Patties

  1. […] day, Melissa from Satisfying Eats posted a low-carb version, and I had to try them since I had homemade breakfast sausage on […]

  2. […] NOT losing the taste for is biscuits & gravy. Yesterday for dinner, I crumbled up a bit of my homemade breakfast sausage and fried it, then added a bit (okay a few drops, for the Brits in the audience who insist one […]

Leave a Reply

